Coach Blane Maddox … 20th Season at Warren Local HS qualifies for the Bob Arnzen Award …

I was at Warren High School Tuesday night to take in Warren vs Alexander HS… as always I had the pleasure to chat with Coach Blane Maddox , he gave me some reading material the “2018 December Hooplines – OHSBCA Newsletter” … basketball information, newsletter for coaches, award winners of the past etc. I’m reading through the magazine, ran across the “Bob Arnzen Award Winners” …

Bob Arnzen was the legendary boys coach for Delphos St John’s High School … he was boys head basketball coach for 43 years … when he retired he was the #2 winningest coach in Ohio High School hoops (676 wins – that now stands as #5 on the all time list) … he was inducted into the Ohio High School Basketball Coach Association Hall of Fame in 1995 ..

… The Bob Arnzen Award is given to those basketball coaches who have devoted 20 consecutive years or more of service to the same school and for their loyalty/commitment to Ohio High School Basketball. I began highlighting the coaches in the SouthEast District who have been presented with the Bob Arnzen Award over the years … as one would expect those I found (24) are among the who’s who of SEO hoops :

Howie Caldwell (Racine Southern)
Jim Darrow (Wellston)
Doug Fisher (Sheridan)
Jim Myers (Logan)
Jim Osborne (Gallia Academy)
Dave Young (North Adams)
John Helber (Logan)
… plus 17 more in the SE District …

read more

Start a Conversation